Battle Pass and Season Blessings

With the Season of the Malignant we are going to get our first Diablo 4 Battle Pass. How will it work and what are the rewards?

In, Season of the Malignant, Diablo 4 will see a big change to its progression and reward systems: Season Journey, Battle Pass, and Season Blessings will all be introduced when the Season launches on July 20.

As you play your characters on the Seasonal Realm, you'll be earning experience towards of all these tracks simulataneously, each one providing different gameplay and cosmetic rewards. In this article, we’ll talk about the Battle Pass structure, and all the benefits of the Seasonal Blessings.

If you want an overview of everything that awaits us in Diablo 4 Season of the Malignant, make sure to check out this article! To learn about the Seasonal Journey progression system, visit this page!

Battle Pass Structure

Diablo 4 Battle Pass is a time-limited progression track that you will be able to access in the special Season menu tab. It is displayed as a scroll bar on the bottom, with different kinds of rewards you can hover and inspect.

As you play the game, you will be earning Favor, which is a special currency that contributes to your Battle Pass progress. Favor can be earned through in-game activities such as Dungeons, Helltides, and Tree of Whispers. Season Journey will also grant you plenty of Favor - as rewards for individual mission progress and Chapter completion.

Once you have enough Favor collected, you unlock a Tier on the Battle Pass with a corresponding reward (the number of Favor required per Tier is currently unknown). The Battle Pass has a total of 90 tiers: 27 Free tiers and 63 Premium tiers.

You will be able to earn Favor right from character Level 1, no matter if you play the Campaign or decide to skip it. Premium Battle Pass owners have no advantage over free users in terms of earning the Battle Pass experience.

Below is the Diablo 4 Season of the Malignant Battle Pass prices. Remember that if you have purchased Diablo 4 Deluxe or Ultimate Edition you will have access to the Premium Battle Pass offer for Season 1.

Battle PassFree27 tiers
Premium Battle Pass1,000 Platinum ($9.99 / £8.39)90 Tiers
Accelerated Battle Pass2,800 Platinum ($24.99/£20.99)90 Tiers and 20 Tier Skips

You will have until the end of Season of Malignant to earn enough Favor to claim all the rewards. According to an unconfirmed but reliable leak, the Season ends on October 9th 2023.

If you want to speed up the Battle Pass completion progress, you can use the Tier Skips to jump ahead. Each Tier Skip costs 200 Platinum ($1.99) which will immediately get you to the next Tier of rewards in the Diablo 4 Battle Pass. Note that Accelerated Battle Pass comes with 20 Tier Skips already included.

Battle Pass Rewards

The Diablo 4 Battle Pass offers 90 Tiers of rewards, of which 63 are exclusive for Premium Battle Pass owners. All rewards are either cosmetic items or a special currency called Smoldering Ashes (more about it - below).

20 Smoldering Ashes+++
27 Tiers on the Free Track+++
63 Tiers on the Premium Track ++
Coldiron Armor Set for each class ++
Warded Mustang Mount++
Coldiron Barding Mount Armor++
20 Tier Skips+
"On the Warpath" Emote+

The Premium Battle Pass will also reward you with Platinum (the premium currency which can be spent in the Diablo 4 shop).

Below are the types of rewards we know of:

  • Armor skins
  • Weapon skins
  • Mount Armor and Trophies
  • Emotes
  • Headstones
  • Titles
  • Markings and Tattoos
  • Smoldering Ashes
  • Platinum 

The developers have noted that all the armor cosmetic items offered in the Diablo 4 Battle Pass are class agnostic, meaning you can use them on any character you play, no matter what class it is. However, since most weapons are class-specific, their cosmetics will still often be locked to one or several classes who can use them.

Season Blessings

Season Blessings are account-wide buffs that enhance your Diablo 4 Seasonal gameplay experience. Season Blessings can be purchased by using Smoldering Ashes, which is, as we mentioned, a currency that is rewarded as a part of Battle Pass progression.

Once enough Smoldering Ash has been acquired, players can decide which Season Blessing they would like to activate or upgrade. In Season of the Malignant, there will be five Season Blessings to choose from:

  • Boost to experience earned from killing monsters (+3% per Blessing level).
  • Boost to the amount of Gold earned through vendor sales (+5% per Blessing level).
  • Boost to the chance of rare materials from salvage (+10% per Blessing level).
  • Boost to the duration of all Elixirs (+15% per Blessing level).
  • Boost to the chance of powerful Malignant Heart drops (+5% per Blessing level).

It is important to note that Smoldering Ashes have a certain character level requirement. For example, you will be able to spend Smoldering Ashes for the first time only at character Level 35.

It means, that even if you use Accelerated Battle Pass with 20 Tier Skips, or specifically pay for individual Tier Skips, you still won't be able to activate any boosts unless you also progress your character in-game.

It has also been confirmed that players can refund their Smoldering Ashes if they have changed thei mind and want to activate a different Season Blessing. However, each time theydo so, it will cost Gold, and the refund price will continuously increase with more refund attempts.

Will you be purchasing Diablo 4 Season of the Malignant Battle Pass? Are you excited about the rewards offered? Let us know in the comments, and stay tuned to more news and guides as we moving fast towards the Diablo 4 highly-anticipated first season!

Articles: 43