World Tier 1

World Tiers: Difficulty Overview

Beginner Difficulties

Beginner difficulties are available from the start of the game, upon character creation you will be asked to select a difficulty. You can also change this any time via the World Tier Statue in the town. In the Open Beta or character selection, only World Tier 1 and 2 are selectable.


This difficulty is recommended for players who are new to the Diablo series or aRPG games.


Veteran is a more challenging difficulty that rewards you with more Experience and Gold. 

We recommend this difficulty if players want to speed up the leveling process.

Mid-End Game Difficulties

Mid-End game difficulties are not available to you at the start of the game and instead have requirements that have to be fulfilled to unlock them.


Recommended Level: 50

World Tier 3: Nightmare is unlocked by completing the campaign and Cathedral of Light Capstone Dungeon in Kyovasha, World Tier 2: Veteran. Once you Unlock World Tier 3, Higher rarity equipment becomes available (Sacred and Unique items).

More details regarding World Tier 3 can be found in the image below.


Recommended Level: 70

World Tier 4: Torment is unlocked by completing the Fallen Temple Capstone Dungeon in northeastern Dry Steppes, World Tier 3: Nightmare. Torment is the final difficulty available to players and is considered the endgame difficulty in Diablo 4. Notable changes are Ancestral items and new Unique items can drop.

More details can be found in the image below.

Articles: 15